Piaget development stages

Piaget development stages - Piaget stages of cognitive...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Piaget stages of cognitive development and others
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Piaget - developed cognitive developmental theory - studied children cognitive processes - noticed children develop similarly and consistently respond to cognitive questions according to age group - thought people were born with cognitive schemes (internal cognivite schema's) like kids putting things in their mouths have mouth schema's and thats how these kids would figure out the world 3 things that effect cognitive schemes: 1.) assimilation - use old schemes you have to compare to something he knows when coming across novel items/experiences 2.) accomodate - alter your scheme in some way, not fitting stimulus into current scheme but adapting a new scheme, i.e. things that won't go in a kids mouth like animals. .. at least larger ones 3.) equilibration - the balance between assimilation and accomodation Piaget's 4 stages of cognitive development: 1.) sensory motor stage - birth - 24 months, using motor and sensory skills, around 2 vocabulary slowly develops 2.) pre-operational stage - from 24 months - 6 years old, develop more complex
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 11/04/2010 for the course PSYCH 214 taught by Professor Doran during the Fall '10 term at CUNY Queens.

Page1 / 3

Piaget development stages - Piaget stages of cognitive...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online