045.InstructionsPartIV - MUS300005 Fall,2010 (17501820....

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
MUS 300‐005 Fall, 2010 Music Appreciation Online Instructions for completing Part IV Part IV covers the Classical period (1750‐1820). This was one of the most pivotal periods in Western classical music (“classical” = art music in general, even of non‐ Western traditions; “Classical” = art music from the Western tradition written between 1750 and 1820, and conforming with the Classical style). Oddly enough, even though the Classical period set the course for all of Western music from that point up until our own time, the Classical style was created by just three major composers: Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven. Even more unusual was the fact that their work was centered in ONE European city: Vienna. So, unlike the other historical periods, the Classical period represented three people (and the musicians who were influenced by them), who ranged over only two generations, and worked primarily in the same city. This was the first time in Western classical music when Germany/Austria as a region served as the center of innovation. Previously, Italy and France (and at times, England) were the great centers, and Germany/Austria contributed a limited amount of innovation (as, for example, the Lutheran church cantata during the Baroque period). This is very important to remember. Another distinctive feature of the Classical
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Page1 / 2

045.InstructionsPartIV - MUS300005 Fall,2010 (17501820....

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online