Reflection Format

Reflection Format - Reflection Format TITLE: Piagets Theory...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Reflection Format TITLE: Piaget’s Theory of Cognitive and Affective Development Reflection NAME: Jessica Baird DATE: 10-5-2010 Summary of Key Ideas 1. There are three different types of knowledge that children obtain. Each type of knowledge is necessary for a child to develop cognitively. 2. The sensorimotor intelligence stage is the first stage in development. It occurs between birth and the age of two. During this stage the children are mostly developing sensory and motor skills. 3. When children are from the age of two to seven most are going through the preoperational thought stage. During this stage children develop language and work on logic. 4. The concrete operations stage occurs between the age of seven to eleven. Children begin to apply logic to thought processes. 5 . The final stage of development is the formal operations stage. This is when children are able to apply logical reasoning’s to all problems and it usually occurs between the age of eleven to fifteen. Reflection For children to develop new schemata it is necessary for children to act upon their environment and to assimilate old schemata and accommodate new schemata. To be able to do this, children must act upon their environment and learn physical, logical-mathematical and social-arbitrary knowledge. When children learn physical knowledge they are developing motors skills and knowledge of objects physical properties. The children must interact with and object and receive knowledge from their interactions. It is necessary for all children to obtain this knowledge so they are better able to form new schemata. Logical-mathematical knowledge is when a child learns new knowledge from interacting and thinking about an object. What object a child interacts with is not important but what a child learns from that object is important. Social knowledge is the obtained from interactions with others. Children learn rules, laws and ethics through their interactions with others. In every type of knowledge a child is encountering new stimulus that they must assimilate or accommodate and children are constantly adapting their
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
schemata to reach a state of equilibration. When new information is learned it is not always easily filed into a schema and a person must work to make sure it is in the appropriate place. Sensorimotor is the first stage of development that a child encounters and from the moment of
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 11/26/2010 for the course ECH 528 taught by Professor Vaughn during the Spring '10 term at SFASU.

Page1 / 3

Reflection Format - Reflection Format TITLE: Piagets Theory...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online