Key+Terms - Key Terms Anthro 169/IS 179 Samsara cycle of...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Key Terms – Anthro 169/IS 179 Samsara – cycle of birth, death and rebirth – a symbolic “wheel” which is common to both Hindu and Buddhist ideologies. The goal of both Hinduism and Buddhism is to ultimately escape from this cycle. Maya Illusion – according to Hindu and Buddhist beliefs, this material world is an illusion that often distracts us from true spiritual understanding. Karma is the determining force of samsara; it determines into what state one is reborn. Samadhi – A deep, meditative state found in both Hinduism and Buddhism wherein one seeks a form of enlightenment (achieving oneness with the true reality of Brahman in the case of Hinduism or the absence of self/ego in Buddhism. Zen Buddhism uses samadhi as a way of sensing ultimate reality without self-delusion) The Four Purusharthas – According top Hinduism, there are four things that people want: . 1. Kama – pleasure of the senses 2. Artha – Pursuit of material well being, wealth and power 3. Dharma – the striving for virtue or righteousness 4. Moksha – liberation from samsara, the cycle of death and rebirth Dharma or dhamma – “right living.” In the Bhagavid Gita from the Mahabharata, Krishna gave provided instructions for dharma or “right living.” In the Ramayana, Rama provides a living illustration of dharma. Dhama is provided in the Vedas, the Puranas and various other Hindu texts. Merit and sin – bon and bap . In Most forms of Buddhism, meritorious actions can improve one’s karma whereas selfish actions can hurt it. Ahimsa – to refuse to do harm to others. Trimurti - The Hindu divine “trinity” consisting of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva Brahma - One of the principal gods of the Brahmanic trimurti, the "creator"; generally represented with four faces and four arms, mounted on the Hamsa or sacred goose; his attributes include: disc, ladle, book, rosary, vase, flywhisk and sceptre. Shiva - One of the gods of the Brahmanic trimurti, the “destroyer” - usually mounted on Nandin (sacred bull), he often bears a third eye and a crescent on his chignon; he is symbolized by the shape of the linga.
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Vishnu - One of the gods of the Brahmanic trimurti, 'the protector' - usually mounted on garuda; he generally has four arms, holding the disc, the conch, the the bowl, and the club; Vishnu has many avatars, such as Krishna and Rama. Devi – The Hindu mother goddess – the supreme form of feminine divinity Tridevi – the conjoined forms of Lakshmi , Parvati and Saraswati – This is the feminine form of the sacred Trimurti. Parvati -
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 12/07/2010 for the course ANTHRO anthro 169 taught by Professor Prof.tomdouglas during the Fall '10 term at UC Irvine.

Page1 / 6

Key+Terms - Key Terms Anthro 169/IS 179 Samsara cycle of...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online