{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Medical Marijuana - To date Alaska California Colorado...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
To date, Alaska, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington have state laws that give the go ahead for limited use of marijuana for medical purposes. Guidelines from the Obama administration issued in August 2010 to federal drug agents and prosecutors instructed them that it’s not a good use of time to posecute users and distributors of medical marijuana in the 14 states that allow it to be used medically. However, the guidelines make it clear that agents will continue to prosecute people whose marijuana distribution goes beyond what is permitted under state law or use medical marijuana as a cover for other crimes. Although this directive differs from the Bush Administration’s stance on medical marijuana, which raided medical marijuana dispensaries for violating federal law even though state laws okayed pot for medicinal purposes, this directive only amounts to a suggestion, and is not a law.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}