{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Dale - Computer Science Illuminated 262

Dale - Computer Science Illuminated 262 - 8.3 Functionality...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
8.3 Functionality of Imperative Languages 235 Most high-level languages have four distinct data types built into the language: integer numbers, real numbers, characters, and Boolean values. Integers The integer data type represents a range of integer values from the smallest to the largest. The range varies depending upon how many bytes are assigned to represent an integer value. Some high-level languages provide several integer types of different sizes, which allows the user to choose the one that fits the data in a particular problem. The operations that can be applied to integers are the standard arith- metic and relational operators. Addition and subtraction are represented by the standard symbols + and ± . Multiplication and division are usually represented by * and /. Depending on the language, integer division may return a real number or the integer quotient. Some languages have two symbols for division, one that returns a real result and one that returns the integer quotient. Most languages also have an operator that returns the
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online