Four Noble Truth

Four Noble Truth - LectureonBuddhism...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Lecture on Buddhism Part 1  The first noble truth Life is suffering.  Basically, the First Noble Truth states that life is unsatisfactory and  imperfect. How so? All of us are subject to pain and sufferings. All of us cannot avoid  disease, old age and death. We are subject to impermanence and uncertainty. There  are three kinds of suffering.   A. Ordinary suffering.   It can be divided into two  categories, broadly speaking, physical and mental. Here the physical sufferings are the  sufferings of birth, old age, sickness and death. Birth is suffering because of the  physical pain suffered by the infant and because birth impels all the other sufferings.  Birth in a sense is the gateway to the other sufferings of sickness, old age and death  which follow inevitably upon birth. No matter how happy and contented our lives may  be, the sufferings of birth, old age, sickness and death are absolutely unavoidable. In  addition to these physical sufferings there are mental sufferings.   (1) There is the  suffering of separation from our loved ones,  separation either due to reasons of work  or because those whom we love die or because those whom we love have to go away,  or because we have to leave them.  (2) Then there is the suffering of contact with  those whom we dislike or those who dislike us.  It can take very mild forms such as a  colleague at work who is antagonistic to us and we dread to go to work because we  know that this person whom we dislike somehow always wants to  find fault with  us. It 
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
can take more radical forms such as persecution, torture and so forth.   (3) Finally  there is the suffering of frustrated desire , when we cannot get what we want, when  we cannot get that job, the position that we want, when we cannot win over this or that  person.   These   physical   and   mental   sufferings   are   woven   into   the   fabric   of   our  existence.  B. Suffering as produced by change.  A happy feeling, a happy condition in  life, is not permanent, not everlasting. It changes sooner or later. When it changes, it  produces pain, suffering, unhappiness. It is easy to understand the two forms of  suffering mentioned above. No one will dispute them. This aspect of the First Noble  Truth is more popularly known because it is easy to understand. It is common  experience in our daily life. But the third form of suffering as conditioned states is the  most important philosophical aspect of the First Noble Truth, and it requires some  analytical explanation of what we consider as a ‘being’, as an ‘individual’, or as ‘I’. 
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 01/29/2011 for the course PHIL 1050 taught by Professor Ashleyhardcastle during the Spring '08 term at North Texas.

Page1 / 13

Four Noble Truth - LectureonBuddhism...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online