Lecture 1 Light sources, optics, and the geometrical extent Spr2010

Lecture 1 Light sources, optics, and the geometrical extent Spr2010

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–7. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Spring 2010 Mat 288S Optoelectronic Measurements 1 Mat288S Optoelectronic Measurements Learn about the measurement tools Develop lab skills Develop reporting skills
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Spring 2010 Mat 288S Optoelectronic Measurements 2 Why Bother? Save six months of frustration Graduate six months earlier: = $50,000
Background image of page 2
Syllabus Spring 2010 Mat288S Optoelectronic Measurements 3 Date Lecture Lab Mon Mar 29 Light sources, optics, and the geometrical extent Wed Mar 31 Gaussian Beams, coherence, and demo Mon Apr 5 Optomechanics and lab intro Spot size and fiber coupling Wed Apr 7 Discussion, sample problems, and interferometry demo Mon Apr 12 Digital Scopes and signal fidelity Wed Apr 14 Time domain measurements Mon Apr 19 Photodetectors and lab intro Pulse response and TDR Wed Apr 21 CCD and CMOS arrays Mon Apr 26 Noise and drift Wed Apr 28 Signal Recovery and demo Mon May 3 Spectrometers and filters and lab intro In situ spectral reflectivity Wed May 5 Color measurement Mon May 10 Polarization, free space and fiber waveplates Wed May 12 Miscellaneous components Mon May 17 Nearfield and farfield measurements and lab intro Optical feedback: RIN and external Wed May 19 TBD cavity lasers Mon May 24 TBD Wed May 26 Review lecture Mon May 31 Memorial Day no class Wed June 2D e a d Week no class Final
Background image of page 3

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Spring 2010 Mat288S Optoelectronic Measurements 4 Lecture 1 Light sources Lenses and geometrical optics The Optical Extent
Background image of page 4
Spring 2010 Mat288S Optoelectronic Measurements 5 Spectral Range of Light Sources 200 355 405 550 633 780 1000 1310 1550 2200 3000 10000 Wavelength, nm Å AlGaInN Æ AlGaInP AlGaInAs InGaAsP GaAsSb Quantum Cascade YAG 4 3 Yag 2 HeNe Ti:saph YAG Er +3 CO 2 ----Deuterium---- ----------------------------------------Arc lamps------------------------------------------ ---------------------------Tungsten Halogen----------------------------------------
Background image of page 5

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Spring 2010 Mat288S Optoelectronic Measurements 6 Terminology Radiometric Spectral Photometric Power (Watts) Spectral Density (Watts-nm -1 ) Luminous Flux (Lumens)
Background image of page 6
Image of page 7
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Page1 / 29

Lecture 1 Light sources, optics, and the geometrical extent Spr2010

This preview shows document pages 1 - 7. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online