final review 2 - Chapter 8 Recommended problems AP8-3 AP8-5...

Info icon This preview shows pages 1–4. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Chapter 8 Recommended problems: AP8-3, AP8-5 AP8–3. Req. 1 Cost of each machine: Machine A B C Total Purchase price .................................... $10,800 $32,500 $21,700 $65,000 Installation costs ................................. 800 1,100 1,100 3,000 Renovation costs ................................ 600 1,400 1,600 3,600 Total cost ......................................... $12,200 $35,000 $24,400 $71,600 Req. 2 Computation of year 1 depreciation expense for each machine: Machine Method Computation A Straight-line ($12,200 - $1,000) x 1/8 years = $1,400 B Units-of-production ($35,000 - $2,000) ÷ 33,000 hours = $1.00 $1.00 x 7,000 hours = $7,000 C Double-declining-balance ($24,400 - 0) x 2/5 years = $9,760 Depreciation expense ($1,400 + $7,000 + $9,760) (+E, - SE)…. 18,160 Accumulated depreciation, Machine A (+XA, - A)……… 1,400 Accumulated depreciation, Machine B (+XA, - A)……… 7,000 Accumulated depreciation, Machine C (+XA, - A)……… 9,760 AP8–5. Req. 1 a. Machine A - Jan. 1, 2007: (1) Depreciation expense in 2007 - none recorded because disposal date was Jan. 1, 2007. (2) To record disposal: Cash (+A) .......................................................................... 5,750 Accumulated depreciation, machine A ( - XA, +A) ............. 17,600 Loss on disposal of machine (+Loss, - SE) ....................... 650 Machine A ( - A) ........................................................... 24,000
Image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
b. Machine B - December 31, 2007: (1) To record depreciation expense for 2007: Depreciation expense (+E, - SE) ....................................... 1,150 Accumulated depreciation, machine B (+XA, - A) ....... 1,150 ($16,500 – $5,000) x 1/10 years = $1,150. (2) To record disposal: Cash (+A) .......................................................................... 4,000 Note receivable (+A) ......................................................... 5,000 Accumulated depreciation, machine B ($8,050 + $1,150) ( - XA, +A) .......................................................................... 9,200 Machine B ( - A) ........................................................... 16,500 Gain on disposal of machine (+Gain, +SE) ................ 1,700 c. Machine C - January 1, 2007: (1) Depreciation expense in 2007 - none recorded because disposal date was Jan. 1, 2007. (2) To record disposal: Accumulated depreciation, machine C ( - XA, +A) ............ 48,000 Loss on disposal of machine (+Loss, - SE) ....................... 11,200 Machine C ( - A) .......................................................... 59,200 Req. 2 Machine A - January 1, 2007: Disposal of a long-lived asset with the price below net book value, resulting in a loss. Machine B - December 31, 2007: Disposal of a long-lived asset with the price above net book value, resulting in a gain. Machine C - January 1, 2007: Disposal of a long-lived asset due to damage, resulting in a loss.
Image of page 2
Chapter 9 Recommended problems AP9-1 AP9-7 AP9-8 AP9-9 AP9–1.
Image of page 3

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Image of page 4
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

What students are saying

  • Left Quote Icon

    As a current student on this bumpy collegiate pathway, I stumbled upon Course Hero, where I can find study resources for nearly all my courses, get online help from tutors 24/7, and even share my old projects, papers, and lecture notes with other students.

    Student Picture

    Kiran Temple University Fox School of Business ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    I cannot even describe how much Course Hero helped me this summer. It’s truly become something I can always rely on and help me. In the end, I was not only able to survive summer classes, but I was able to thrive thanks to Course Hero.

    Student Picture

    Dana University of Pennsylvania ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    The ability to access any university’s resources through Course Hero proved invaluable in my case. I was behind on Tulane coursework and actually used UCLA’s materials to help me move forward and get everything together on time.

    Student Picture

    Jill Tulane University ‘16, Course Hero Intern