{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Chapter 2 Notes

Chapter 2 Notes - Chapter 2 The Constitution The Articles...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Chapter 2: The Constitution The Articles of Confederation is the compact among the thirteen original states that formed the basis of the first national government of the United States from 1777 to 1789, when it was supplanted by the Constitution Home Rule is power given by a state to a locality to enact legislation and manage its own affairs locally. Home rule also applies to Britain’s administration of the American colonies. Bicameral Legislature is a legislature composed of two houses or chambers. The US Congress (House and Senate) and every US state legislature (with the exception of Nebraska’s which is unicameral) are bicameral legislatures. Declaration of Independence is the document drafted by Thomas Jefferson and adopted by the Second Continental Congress on July 4, 1776, declaring the independence of the thirteen colonies from Great Britain Confederation is a political system in which states or regional governments retain ultimate authority except for those powers they expressly delegate to a central government. Shays’s Rebellion was the uprising of 1786 led by Daniel Shays, a former captain in the Continental army and a bankrupt Massachusetts farmer, to protest the state’s high taxes and aggressive debt collection policies. The rebellion demonstrated a fundamental weakness of the Articles of Confederation—its inability to keep the peace—and stimulated interest in strengthening the national government, leading to the Philadelphia convention that framed the Constitution.
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}