b25 - NaturalSelection Date Mon Wed Fri Mon Wed Fri Mon Wed...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–5. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Date Topic Chapter Mon Mar 22 Introduction to Evolution Wed Mar 24 Descent with Modification 22 Fri Mar 26 Microevolution: Mechanisms of Evolution I 22,23 Mon Mar 29 Microevolution: Mechanisms of Evolution II 23 Wed Mar31 Macroevolution: Origin of Species 23,24 Fri April 2 Macroevolution: Speciation and Extinction 24 Mon April 5 Sexual Selection and Evolution of Sex 24 Wed April 7 Origin of Life 1 25 Fri April 9 Origin of Life 2 25 Mon April 12 Human Evolution 26 Wed April 14 Phylogeny 1 50 Fri April 16 Phylogeny 2 50 Mon April 19 TBA TBA Wed April 21 EXAM 3 –in CLASS Ask Questions! Natural Selection
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Outline 1. What is evolution? 2. Historical context of Darwin’s theory idea of fixed species confounding evidence Darwin’s observations 3. The discovery: The Theory of Natural Selection what is a scientific theory? what are the central points to the theory? 4. Progress since Darwin
Background image of page 2
What is Organic evolution? The descent of modern organisms with modification from preexisting life-forms
Background image of page 3

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Ancient Greeks (2500 years bp): Aristotle: species are “fixed” Judeo-Christian (2000 years bp): species do not change each species divinely created earth ~ 6000 years old Linnaeus even thought evolution was absurd! Historical Context of the
Background image of page 4
Image of page 5
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Page1 / 22

b25 - NaturalSelection Date Mon Wed Fri Mon Wed Fri Mon Wed...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 5. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online