Review Session Exam 2 [031810]

Review Session Exam 2 [031810] - Review Session Exam 2...

Info icon This preview shows pages 1–10. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Click to edit Master subtitle style 2/18/11 Review Session Exam 2
Image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
2/18/11 Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2 cups of fruit/day 2.5 cups of vegetables/day (choose a variety) 3 ounces of whole grain products/day 3 cups of fat-free or low-fat milk Keep saturated fats to no more that 10% and total fats between 20-35% of total calories No more than 2,330 mg sodium/day To maintain weight: balance calories consumed with calories expended
Image of page 2
2/18/11 Resistance to Modifying Diet People switch to healthier diets more often to improve appearance than to improve health. Maintaining change is tough; long- term monitoring and relapse prevention are key Society of high stress Tastes are difficult to alter Dietary changes may affect mood/personality “Fad diets” are overwhelming Helpful factors to making changes:
Image of page 3

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
2/18/11 Weight Control Activity Hand calculate your Body Mass Index (BMI) or look it up using Table 4.3 on pgs. 98-99 of your text. BMI = weight in kg/height in meters2 1 kg ~ 2.2 lbs Normal Range: 18.5 – 24.9 Overweight Range: 25 – 29.9 Obese Range: 30+
Image of page 4
2/18/11 Factors Associated with Obesity Genetic predispositions & family history Eating and PA Behavior Environment ( toxic ) SES & culture Obesity & excessive dieting Set Point Theory of Weight
Image of page 5

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The Energy Balance Equation In order to lose weight one has to burn more calories than they consume! Calories In < Calories Out = Weight Loss Calories In > Calories Out = Weight Gain Calories In = Calories Out = Weight Maintenance
Image of page 6
2/18/11 Amazon.com has 217,000 titles about dieting! Obese individuals attempt to lose weight because It is considered unattractive (primary reason) It carries a social stigma They perceive that it is a health risk It is coupled with psychological distress Obese - often blamed for their weight Treatment of Obesity
Image of page 7

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
2/18/11 Dieting Small losses, rarely maintained for long Low-fat diets are best for loss but hardest to maintain Risk of yo-yo dieting Surgery Stomach stapled/banded to reduce capacity Appetite-Suppressing drugs The multimodal approach Self-monitoring, control overeating, exercise Controlling self-talk, social support, relapse Treatment of Obesity
Image of page 8
2/18/11 “No matter how you go about losing weight, to lose it effectively and, especially, to keep it off, your lifestyle has to change . This means
Image of page 9

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Image of page 10
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

What students are saying

  • Left Quote Icon

    As a current student on this bumpy collegiate pathway, I stumbled upon Course Hero, where I can find study resources for nearly all my courses, get online help from tutors 24/7, and even share my old projects, papers, and lecture notes with other students.

    Student Picture

    Kiran Temple University Fox School of Business ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    I cannot even describe how much Course Hero helped me this summer. It’s truly become something I can always rely on and help me. In the end, I was not only able to survive summer classes, but I was able to thrive thanks to Course Hero.

    Student Picture

    Dana University of Pennsylvania ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    The ability to access any university’s resources through Course Hero proved invaluable in my case. I was behind on Tulane coursework and actually used UCLA’s materials to help me move forward and get everything together on time.

    Student Picture

    Jill Tulane University ‘16, Course Hero Intern