{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

King - King: SheikhHamad' February2002

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
King:  Sheikh Hamad bin Isa al-Khalifah  Sheikh Hamad's title changed to king when Bahrain switched from being an emirate to a monarchy in  February 2002.  1913  - Britain and the Ottoman government sign a treaty recognising the independence of Bahrain but  the country remains under British administration. 1931  - The Bahrain Petroleum Company (Bapco), a subsidiary of the Standard Oil Company of  California (Socal), discovers oil at Jabal al-Dukhan and production begins the following year.  1939  - Britain decides that the Hawar Islands which lie in the Gulf of Bahrain between Bahrain and  Qatar belong to Bahrain not Qatar.  1961  - Sheikh Isa Bin-Salman Al Khalifah becomes ruler of Bahrain.  1968  16 January - Britain announces it will close its bases east of Suez by 1971.  1970  19 January - The Administrative Council becomes a 12-member Council of State, headed by a  president, the ruler's brother, Sheikh Khalifah Bin-Salman Al Khalifah. 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online