Origin_of_sacred_texts_-_Torah,_Talmud,_Gospels - D...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
DOCUMENTARY HYPOTHESIS : The Pentateuch (the first 5 books of the Bible, also called the Torah) is composed of 4 separate and identifiable texts that were woven together as one document by scribes after the Babylonian Exile (586-539 bce). These 4 authors are anonymous, but historians use the names below to identify the different pieces of text authored by different people. Jahwist (J) – written c. 950 bce (southern kingdom, Judah’s interpretation. Uses the name ‘Yahweh’ for God). Elohist (E) – written c. 850 bce (northern kingdom, Israel’s interpretation. Prefers generic term ‘Elohim’ for God) Deuteronomist (D) – c. 650-621 bce Priestly Source (P) – written during or after the Exile, c. 550-400 bce (shows a focus on laws) A redactor , probably Ezra the scribe, was in charge of editing and combining the 4 above texts into the present form of one continuous document, in the post-Babylonian Exile period. --------------------------
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 02/25/2011 for the course REL 2000 taught by Professor Yadalapadi during the Spring '07 term at LSU.

Page1 / 2

Origin_of_sacred_texts_-_Torah,_Talmud,_Gospels - D...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online