Chapter 3 Summary

Chapter 3 Summary - Jacquelyn Magoc September 8, 2010...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Jacquelyn Magoc September 8, 2010 Social Work 227 Chapter 3 Chapter 3 discusses in detail the different types of biopsychosocial dimensions and how to put them into the social work perspective. The disease model is a theory that asses both behavior and their clients problems. It notices that the reason that an client may have a problem is a psychological problem. The medical model is a model that emerged with Freud’s ideas bout the roots of psychological problems as well as with the advances made in medicine and our understanding of psychological processes. The medical model was created so that doctors have an easy way of diagnosing their patients bases on the patients symptoms and an examination using the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. There are 5 different axis in determining the patients diagnosis. Axis I are clinical disorders such as dementia, substance abuse, or even eating disorders. Axis II are personality disorders or mental retardation. Axis III are general medical conditions. Axis IV are psychological and environmental problems. Lastly Axis V are global assessment of functioning. Applying this you first start with the DSM-IV-TR and see where they are on the assessment. Starting for Axis I and ending at Axis V. Problems with this model includes the social workers subject to error, does not include all factors of a person having a mental illness, scaring the client (feeling of failure), and is extremely individual. Jean Piaget developed an cognitive development (mental processes) theory that describes how people develop their capacities to think, learn, and process information from birth to their teenage years. Starting with the sensorimotor stage (birth-2 years) children learn that objects and events out of their senses still exist (object permanence), gain reflexes, and learns that there is another world besides themselves. The preoperational stage (2-7years) characteristics are egocentrism (others), animism (inanimate objects have life qualities), centration (focus on one
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Page1 / 2

Chapter 3 Summary - Jacquelyn Magoc September 8, 2010...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online