b Cates Syllabus Winter 2011

b Cates Syllabus Winter 2011 - Biology 100 Winter 2011...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–4. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Biology 100 Winter 2011 Sections 11-19 (10:00 am 446 MARB) Sections 21-28 (12:00 pm 446 MARB) Instructors and Biology 100 Course Manager: Rex G. Cates, Department of Biology, College of Life Sciences (rex_cates@byu.edu) Stephanie Burdett, Department of Biology, College of Life Sciences (stephanie_burdett@byu.edu)
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
10:00 am TA’s: Derek Hull Section 011 (Friday – W005 BNSN) byubio100@gmail.com Drew Whittier Section 012 (Friday – 363 MARB) drewhttr@gmail.com Todd Jaramillo Section 013 (Friday – 132 SNLB) toddj123@gmail.com Beau Walker Section 014 (Friday – 340 CTB) beauwalker@byu.edu Julie Rasmussen Section 015 (Friday – C460 ESC) juliekrasmussen@yahoo.com Ryan Barlow Section 016 (Friday – 114 BRMB) rbarlow47@gmail.com Paul Belnap Section 017 (Friday – C255 ESC) pbelnap3@gmail.com Scott Johnson Section 018 (Friday – 125 HRCB) johnson_scott22@yahoo.com Kayla Melling Section 019 (Friday – 324 TNRB) kayla_page22@yahoo.com 12:00 pm TA’s: Darron Fors Section 021 (Friday – 150 HRCB) darronfors@gmail.com Addison Alley Section 022 (Friday – W006 BNSN) addison.alley@gmail.com Tatyana Isupov Section 023 (Friday – 343 MARB) t.isupov@gmail.com Julie Rasmussen
Background image of page 2
Course Description and Purpose The course is designed to help students develop basic literacy in the biological sciences and intellectual skills to “think clearly, communicate effectively, and act wisely” (* The Value of a General Education , BYU ) as stewards and citizens in your home, community, and the world. The purpose of this course is to help students become prudent stewards and responsible skeptics in our homes, communities, and world. Definitions: 1) Basic literacy: Understand major concepts and vocabulary of biology at the level of the well- informed citizen. 2) Prudent: careful and sensible; marked by informed and sound judgment. 3) Well-informed citizen: One who understands biological information found in common literature. For example, abstracts in popular science journals, the internet, newspapers, and popular magazines. *as outlined in the BYU Aims and the GE foundation document: Scientific Principles and Reasoning: Biological Science, Physical Science, and Social Science Learning Outcomes 1. Students will understand and be able to explain basic biological concepts and content. 2. Students will be able to apply sound reasoning using biological literacy to evaluate a scientific or other claim. 3. Students will respect divergent opinions and intelligently converse about current scientific issues. 4. Students will learn to evaluate information, and effectively communicate arguments using reliable evidence. Lectures and Discussion Sections Monday and Wednesday: Emphasized on Monday and Wednesday is learning and understanding the biological content that relates to the emphasis for the week. This will include a set of terms or phrases that are necessary to understand the biological concepts being taught. You will be responsible for knowing these terms before lecture
Background image of page 3

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 4
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Page1 / 7

b Cates Syllabus Winter 2011 - Biology 100 Winter 2011...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 4. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online