Week 2 DQ1

Week 2 DQ1 - There are four types of inheritance patterns...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: There are four types of inheritance patterns in pedigrees. What are they? How is genotype different from phenotype? There are four types of inheritance patterns in pedigrees and they are: autosomal dominant, autosomal recessive, x-linked recessive, and x-linked dominant. Autosomal: is the gene responsible for the phenotype is located on one of the 22 pairs of autosomes these are considered the non-sex determining chromosomes. X-linked: is the gene that encodes for the trait is located on the X chromosome. Dominant: are conditions that manifest in heterozygotes. Recessive: conditions are only manifest in individuals who have two copies of the mutant. Dominant conditions are expressed in individuals who have just one copy of the mutant allele. Recessive conditions are clinically manifest only when an individual has two copies of the mutant allele. When there is only one copy of the mutant allele that is present, the individual is a carrier of the mutation, but does not develop the condition, in order to develop the condition the...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 04/07/2011 for the course EB 110 taught by Professor Ms.thomas during the Spring '11 term at BYU.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online