normal pathway

normal pathway - Then they move within its connective...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Hair normally grows through a process that includes periodic regeneration of hair follicles. The hair cycle is done in three defined stages. The first stage is growth, known as anagen, the second stage is regression, known as catagen, and the third stage is rest, known as telogen. During the anagen phase, the matrix cells of the hair follicle undergo mitotic activity. In the catagen phase, mitotic activity decreases. Also, the hair follicle separates from the dermal papilla and the capillary plexus.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Then they move within its connective tissue sheath (a covering) toward the outer layer of the skin, the epidermis. During the telogen stage, the resulting hairs, also known as club hairs, are in a resting phase. The hair continues in this stage until its follicle suddenly reenters the anagen stage. The club hairs are being forced out by growing hairs underneath them and the cycle starts over....
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 04/19/2011 for the course BIOCHEM 2 taught by Professor Staff during the Spring '08 term at Emory.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online