Wound Healing Phases

Wound Healing Phases - Transforming growth factor(TGF...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Wound Healing Phases: coagulation, inflammation, proliferation and repair, remodeling o Coagulation: (within seconds) formation of a clot composed of cross-linked fibrin (barrier against contamination and infection, matrix for invading cells, reservoir of growth factors from platelets) Growth factors: released by platelets Proliferation: cell division and growth Differentiation: becoming more specific in its form and function Mitogens: substance that induces mitosis (cell division) Platelet-derived growth factor (PDGF): released by platelets and attracts white cells
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Transforming growth factor (TGF): released by platelets and attracts white cells • Fibroblast growth factor (FGF): released by white cells and damaged ECM o Fibroblasts: unheralded heroes; manufacture ECM, especially collagen; very generic; live in and secrete large quantities of ECM proteins, especially collagen, not terminally differentiated – they can change function and appearance, intimately involved in wound healing, differentiate to a contractile phenotype: myofibroblasts (result in wound contraction) Platelets: release growth factors...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 04/23/2011 for the course BIME 2102 taught by Professor Kim during the Spring '11 term at UVA.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online