Six major divisions of the CNS

Six major divisions of the CNS - Midbrain 3...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Six major divisions of the CNS: Forebrain: 1. Telecephalon: left and right cerebral hemispheres Cerebral hemisphere/cortex: memory, attention, perceptual awareness, thought, language, and consciousness Basal ganglia: movement Hippocampus: memory Amygdaloid: emotion, autonomic/endocrine 2. Diencephalon: between hemispheres Thalamus: synaptic relay center Hypothalamus: hormonal (endocrine) function; autonomic/endocrine regulation
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Midbrain: 3. Midbrain (mesencephalon): auditory and visual pathway origination Hindbrain: 4. Pons and cerebellum • Pons: sleep, respiration, swallowing, bladder control, hearing, equilibrium, taste, eye movement, facial expressions, facial sensation, and posture • Cerebellum: movement coordination 5. Medulla: automatic, involuntary functions Spinal cord: 6. Spinal cord: transmission of motor and sensory signals...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 04/23/2011 for the course BIME 2102 taught by Professor Kim during the Spring '11 term at UVA.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online