{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

ethics RQ6 - 2 The four domains of ethical assessment are...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Jason Lim February 8, 2011 Ethics Reading Questions #6 1. Morality is distinguished from law due to the fact that laws are enforced through punishments that strip away someone's liberties. Upholding morality cannot be done with this type of punishment; instead, it relies on the conscience to recognize what someone did was wrong, and to suffer a more inner punishment. In comparison to etiquette, morality does not deal with how people act in society; it is more focused on the aspects of life that are important for personal and societal development. With religion, it relies on the assumptive fact that there is a supreme authority from which morality comes from. Morality does not need to be grounded in religious doctrine, and so one can still be moral without having a religious affiliation.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: 2. The four domains of ethical assessment are action, consequences, character, and motive. Actions can be viewed as obligatory, wrong, or permissible. Deontological theories are focused on the action domain, as they believe that telling truth should be done in all cases. Consequences focuses on the outcome of a given action. Theories focused on the consequences or outcomes are teleological. The character domain examines the virtue of the person doing the action. His demeanor is a large factor in determining whether his action is right or wrong. Motive examines a person's specific reasons for doing things, and is a relevant factor in evaluating moral assessments....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online