ECON 346 Final Review

ECON 346 Final Review - ECON 346 Final Review Jin Man Lee...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–8. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Click to edit Master subtitle style 5/12/11 ECON346 ECON 346 Final Review Jin Man Lee
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
5/12/11 ECON346 i X N μ = 2 2 ( ) i X N σ - = 2 2 ( ) 1 i X X s n - = - i X X n = 0 1 i i i Y X β ε = + + i 0 1 i i ˆˆ Y = + X e + 2 2 i N σ= 2 2 i N = 0 1 1 2 2 ... i i i k ki i Y X X X = + + + + + 0 1 1 2 2 ˆˆˆˆ ... i i i k ki i Y X X X e = + + + + + 2 2 1 i e s n k = - - 2 2 1 i e s n k = - -
Background image of page 2
5/12/11 ECON346 OLS Classical Assumptions The regression model is linear in the coefficients, is correctly specified, and has additive error term. The error term has a zero population mean: E( & i) = 0 All explanatory variables are uncorrelated with the error term: E(Xi & i) = 0
Background image of page 3

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
5/12/11 ECON346 0 1 1 2 2 2 2 2 ( ) 0 ( ) 0 ( ) 0, where ( ) ( ) (0, ) i i i i i i i i j i i i Y X X E E X E i j Var E N β ε ε ε σ = + + + = = = = = : Classical Assumptions
Background image of page 4
5/12/11 ECON346 0 1 1 2 2 2 2 2 ( ) 0 ( ) 0 ( ) 0, where ( ) ( ) (0, ) i i i i i i i i j i i i Y X X E E X E i j Var E N β ε ε ε σ = + + + = = = = = : Classical Assumptions What if Xi is not a number but variables like color, sex, color of skin, seasons like weekly, monthly, or quarterly? Dummy variables 1) Intercept Dummy 1) Slope Dummy 1) Seasonal Dummy Xi = SEXi
Background image of page 5

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
5/12/11 ECON346 Wrong Functional Forms Wrong functional form bad predictions from out of sample 2 2 2 ( ) 0 ( ) 0 ( ) 0, where ( ) ( ) (0, ) i i i i j i i i E E X E i j Var E N ε ε ε σ = = = = = : 2 0 1 1 2 2 i i i i Y X X β = + + + Sampl e 0 1 1 2 2 ˆ ˆ ˆ i i i i Y X X e = + + +
Background image of page 6
5/12/11 ECON346 Omitted Variable Bias 1, 2 1
Background image of page 7

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 8
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 05/12/2011 for the course FIN 300 taught by Professor Wang during the Spring '11 term at UChicago.

Page1 / 16

ECON 346 Final Review - ECON 346 Final Review Jin Man Lee...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 8. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online