{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Review_Session_online_version

Review_Session_online_version - Disclaimer This is by no...

Info icon This preview shows pages 1–11. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
5/17/11 Disclaimer This is by no mean a substitution of the material provided in lecture. This review Powerpoint is to highlight and/or re-emphasize key and basic concepts covered either in the lecture material or reader. Material covered on the exam may or may not be included in this review. -TA’s
Image of page 1

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Click to edit Master subtitle style 5/17/11 Review Session 10/13/10 DAT
Image of page 2
5/17/11 Outline – Based on Lectures Classic Genetics DNA Replication Transcription Translation – Reviewed in Discussion Section Cloning & Plasmid Isolation
Image of page 3

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
5/17/11 Classic Genetics Biochemical Pathways
Image of page 4
5/17/11 Practice Problem Mutant A B C D E 1 + 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 + 0 3 0 0 + 0 0 4 0 0 0 + + B A E D C 1 4 2 3
Image of page 5

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
5/17/11 Phage T2 h locus ° Host specificity h+ = B (turbid / donut-like appearance) h = B + B/2 (clear plaques) r locus Æ Rate of lysis r+ = slow lysis (small plaques) r = fast lysis (large plaques) T4
Image of page 6
5/17/11 Cis Problems DCO Recombinant
Image of page 7

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
5/17/11 Order? Parental: ab+ x ++c DCO: abc & +++ a b + + + c a + + + b c Show WORK! a + b + c + a c b + + +
Image of page 8
5/17/11 Order: acb Must take the sum Rf (ac): (ac and ++) = 1 + 1 +11 + 9 = 22 / 100 = 22% = 22 mu Rf (cb): (cb and ++) = 1 + 1 + 3 + 5 Do not need to multiply by 2 since all phenotype/genotypes are accounted
Image of page 9

Info icon This preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
5/17/11 Trans Problem How many genes are there? And which mutant are in those genes?
Image of page 10
Image of page 11
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

What students are saying

  • Left Quote Icon

    As a current student on this bumpy collegiate pathway, I stumbled upon Course Hero, where I can find study resources for nearly all my courses, get online help from tutors 24/7, and even share my old projects, papers, and lecture notes with other students.

    Student Picture

    Kiran Temple University Fox School of Business ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    I cannot even describe how much Course Hero helped me this summer. It’s truly become something I can always rely on and help me. In the end, I was not only able to survive summer classes, but I was able to thrive thanks to Course Hero.

    Student Picture

    Dana University of Pennsylvania ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    The ability to access any university’s resources through Course Hero proved invaluable in my case. I was behind on Tulane coursework and actually used UCLA’s materials to help me move forward and get everything together on time.

    Student Picture

    Jill Tulane University ‘16, Course Hero Intern