{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Reproduction and Chromosome Transmission

Eukaryotic cells undergo a cell cycle figure 35 that

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: karyotic cells undergo a cell cycle (Figure 3.5) that consists of several distinct phases. G1 and G2 (gap phases), S and M (mitosis). G1, G2, and S phases are collectively called interphase. Some cells remain in G0 phase (just prior to S phase) for extended periods, thus arresting cell division. Preparation for cell division begins in the G1 phase. Molecular changes (e.g., synthesis of proteins) accumulate in the cell, allowing it to reach and pass through a restriction point and into S phase (as you will see later, there is a G1 checkpoint where accumulation of the G1 cyclin/Cdk complex is necessary for progression to S phase). In S phase the chromosomes are replicated, forming the sister chromatids. Sister chromatids are linked together at a region of DNA called the centromere and are considered a single chromosome. The kinetochore is a group of proteins that are bound to the centromere; the proteins help hold the sister chromatids together and play a role in chromosome sorting (Figure 3.6)....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online