OSI Model - The physical layer is the physical connection...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Checkpoint: OSI Model OSI stands for Open System Interconnection. The OSI model is a model that breaks down network communication into smaller parts that are called layers. Each layer in the OSI model represents a function or service that takes place in network communication. In all, there are 7 different layers in the OSI model. Each layer is directly related to the layer or layers surrounding it. Each layer in the OSI model must be followed in order for communication to be successful on the network. After one layer completes, then it goes on to the next. There is no skipping around in the OSI Model. The 7 layers in the OSI model are Physical Layer, Data Link Layer, Network Layer, Transport Layer, Session Layer, Presentation Layer, and Application Layer.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: The physical layer is the physical connection type being used, such as cables, NIC cards, hubs. The data link layer handles the transfer of data over the network through the physical layer. The network layer provides the means of transportation for the data link layer. The transport layer transports data over the network through the network layer. The session layer establishes a connection between 2 computers to receive data from the transport layer. The presentation layer converts the data into that is received from the session layer into forms that applications can accept. The application layer receives the converted data from the presentation layer and displays it for the end user to read....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online