midterm2review

midterm2review - Econ 139: Midterm 2 Review Andrew Sweeting...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–9. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Econ 139: Midterm 2 Review Andrew Sweeting 1 Department of Economics Duke University Spring 2011 Econ 139 Review 2 (Duke) Review 2 Spring 2011 1 / 33
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
1 Multivariate Regression (esp. Testing) 2 Modelling nonlinearities 3 Maximum Likelihood and Limited Dependent Variables Econ 139 Review 2 (Duke) Review 2 Spring 2011 2 / 33
Background image of page 2
Multivariate Regression motivation for including more variables examples: Wage = β 0 + β 1 Educ + β 2 Ability + u TestScr = β 0 + β 1 STR + β 2 El _ Pct + u Econ 139 Review 2 (Duke) Review 2 Spring 2011 3 / 33
Background image of page 3

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Interpretation of the Multiple Regression Model E ( Y i j X 1 i , ..., X ki ) = β 0 + β 1 X 1 i + ... + β k X ki As in the univariate case, β 0 is the intercept and β k is the "slope coe¢ cient" of X k . β 0 (the intercept) is the expected value of Y i when all the regressors ( X ki &s) are zero. β 1 (the slope coe¢ cient of X 1 ) is the e/ect on Y (the expected change in Y ) of a one unit change in X 1 , holding all other variables constant (or ±controlling for all other variables²). β 1 may also be described as the partial e/ect of X on Y Econ 139 Review 2 (Duke) Review 2 Spring 2011 4 ³ 33
Background image of page 4
Interpreting Changes in Coe¢ cients: Omitted Variables Bias when we add regressors the coe¢ cients on existing variables sometimes change e.g., when include controls for ability the estimated returns to eduction fall e.g., when include state &xed e/ects the e/ect of beer tax changes sign OVB in univariate case if truth: Y i = β 0 + β 1 X 1 i + β 2 X 2 i + u i estimate: Y i = α 0 + α 1 X 1 i + e i b α 1 p ! β 1 + β 2 σ X 1 X 2 σ 2 X 1 Econ 139 Review 2 (Duke) Review 2 Spring 2011 5 ± 33
Background image of page 5

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
OLS Assumptions assumptions for OLS in multiple regression are as before OLS Assumption 1 Correct Speci&cation 1 E ( u i j X 1 i , ..., X ki ) = 0 OLS Assumption 2 Simple random sample ( Y i , X 1 i , ..., X ki ) & iid OLS Assumption 3 No extreme outliers X 1 i , ..., X ki , u i have non-zero ± &nite fourth moments plus OLS Assumption 4 No perfect collinearity Regressors are not linear combinations of each other if these are true, OLS is unbiased, consistent and asymptotically normal 1 Note that this condition also implies that the conditional expectation is zero given any subset of regressors. For example, E & u i j X 1 i ± = E h u i j X ji i = E & u i j X 1 i , X 2 i ± = 0 . Why? This is due to a ²more complicated³ version of LIE, according to which E [ Y j X ] = E [ E [ Y j X , Z ] j X ] Econ 139 Review 2 (Duke) Review 2 Spring 2011 6 / 33
Background image of page 6
Collinearity when we are using a set of dummy variables (e.g., for states) and a constant, we drop one of the dummies to avoid perfect collinearity if have w sets of dummies (e.g., states & years) and a constant, then we drop one dummy of each type if we have highly (but not perfectly) collinear variables, OLS will work but we may end up with large standard errors (imprecise estimates) Econ 139 Review 2 (Duke) Review 2 Spring 2011 7 / 33
Background image of page 7

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Goodness of Fit use adjusted R 2 R 2 = 1 & n & 1 n & k & 1 SSR TSS = 1 & s 2 b u s 2 Y Notice that: 1 R 2 is always less than R 2 : n & 1 n & k & 1 > 1 = ) R 2 < R 2 2 Adding a regressor has two e/ects on R 2 : 1.) SSR falls, but, 2.) n & 1 n & k & 1 increases. So the total e/ect on R 2 depends on which e/ect is bigger.
Background image of page 8
Image of page 9
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 08/03/2011 for the course ECON 139 taught by Professor Alessandrotarozzi during the Spring '08 term at Duke.

Page1 / 33

midterm2review - Econ 139: Midterm 2 Review Andrew Sweeting...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 9. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online