Hinduism - Hinduism Susan Rodgers University of...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Hinduism Susan Rodgers University of Phoenix-Axia College HUM/130
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Hinduism is made up of many different variations of learning to become one with the universe. There are the followers of the Vedas, then the Samkhya, Advaita Vedaita, and Yoga. It can be said that Hinduism is more of a way to govern the lifestyles of its believers that a religion. All are a philosophical system the various practitioners live their lives by. To begin the Vedics follow the teachings in the four books of the Veda. According to Living Relations (2005), Vedas are “ancient sacred hymns compromising four parts.” These parts are called the Samhitas, the Brahmanas, the Aranyakas, and the Upanishads. It is believed these teachings are the breath of the gods passed down to the sages and compiled by the Vyasa. Samhitas are hymns of praise of the deities. Brahmanas is the directions to performing the ritual sacrifices to the deities and the rituals significance to the gods. The Arayakas are the forest treaties. Finally, “the Upanishads explains the personal transformation that results from psychic participation in the ritual process.” (Fisher, 2005) Next is the Samkhya, which has two different parts to reality. The first is the self or
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Page1 / 5

Hinduism - Hinduism Susan Rodgers University of...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online