Chapter 12 Pacific Realm questions

Chapter 12 Pacific Realm questions - 2 In 1945 U.S...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Chapter 12 Pacific Realm 1. Under international law, no country currently owns the North Pole or the region of the Arctic Ocean surrounding it. The five surrounding Arctic states, Russia, Canada, Norway, Denmark (via Greenland), and the United States (via Alaska), are limited to a 200-nautical-mile (370 km; 230 mi) Exclusive Economic Zone around their coasts, and the area beyond that is administered by the International Seabed Authority.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: 2. In 1945, U.S. President Harry Truman issued a proclamation that claimed U.S. jurisdiction and control over all the resources in and on the continental shelf down to its margin around 100 fathoms 600 ft. deep. In some area the shallow continental shelf of the United States extends more than 200 miles offshore, and Washington did not want foreign countries drilling for oil just beyond the 3 mile territorial sea....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online