{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

lifecycle_ - grow quickly By eight weeks the hind legs have...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The frog life cycle occurs in three stages: egg, larva, and adult. These stages are known as metamorphosis. Adult male frogs are ready to breed in the springtime. They often use loud croaking calls to attract a partner. When mating, the male frog fertilizes the female's eggs as she lays them in water. The fertilized eggs of a frog are called spawn. The blobs inside the eggs are embryos protected in a bag of jelly. After about a week the eggs hatch in the water into tadpoles, the tad- poles swim and breath through gills and will
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: grow quickly. By eight weeks the hind legs have formed and by ten weeks the front legs begin to appear. The tad-poles will soon breath through lungs rather than gills. By fourteen weeks the tail disappears and the tiny froglet is ready to leave the water. It will take three years before the froglet reaches maturity and starts the cycle again. The Life Cycle of a Frog. Eggs Tadpole Tadpole with Hind Legs F r o g le t Adult Frog Tadpole with Fore Legs. Tadpole with External Gills...
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}