3_2006_Cotonou_background_information - Cotonou Agreement...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Cotonou Agreement http://europa.eu.int/comm/development/body/cotonou/maps_en.htm Evolution of cooperation Yaoundé I (1963) Benin - Burkina Faso - Burundi - Cameroon - Central African Republic - Tchad - Congo (Brazzaville) - Congo (Kinshasa) - Côte d'Ivoire - Gabon - Madagascar - Mali - Mauritania - Niger - Rwanda - Senegal - Somalia - Togo Yaoundé II (1969) Kenya - Tanzania - Uganda Lomé I (1975) The Bahamas - Barbados - Botswana - Ethiopia - Fiji - Gambia - Ghana - Grenada - Guinea - Guinea-Bissau - Guyana - Jamaica - Lesotho - Liberia - Malawi - Mauritius - Nigeria - Samoa - Sierra Leone - Sudan - Swaziland - Tonga - Trinidad and Tobago - Zambia Lomé II (1979) Cape Verde - Comoros - Djibouti - Dominica - Kiribati - Papua New Guinea - Saint Lucia - Sao Tome and Principe - Seychelles - Solomon Islands - Suriname - Tuvalu Lomé III (1984) Angola - Antigua and Barbuda - Belize - Dominican republic - - Mozambique - Saint Kitts and Nevis - Saint Vincent and the Grenadines - Vanuatu - Zimbabwe Lomé IV (1990) Equatorial Guinea - Haiti Lomé IV revised (1995) Eritrea - Namibia - South Africa Cotonou (2000) Cook Islands - Marshall Islands - Federated States of Micronesia - Nauru - Niue - Palau http://europa.eu.int/comm/development/body/cotonou/before_lome_en.htm Treaty instituting the European Economic Community (EEC). Articles 131 and 136 of the Treaty provide for the association of non-European countries and territories with which EEC member States have particular relations. First EDF (1958-1963). Yaoundé I Convention between EAMA (Associated African and Malgache Countries) and EEC. This convention gives commercial advantages and financial aid to African ex- colonies. It is covered by the second EDF (1964-1969). 1
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Yaoundé II Convention between EAMA and EEC. It is covered by the third EDF (1964-1969). ACP-EU Agreement Introduction Relations between the European Union and the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) states are at a historic turning point. Ties with the ACP countries, governed since 1975 by the regularly adapted and updated Lomé Convention, are a particularly important aspect of the EU's development cooperation policy and, more widely, of its external action. Due to major upheavals on the international stage, socio-economic and political changes in the ACP countries, and the spreading of poverty, with instability and potential conflict as its consequences, a rethinking of cooperation had however become necessary. The February 2000 expiration of the Convention has provided an ideal opportunity for a thorough review of the future of EU-ACP relations. In 1996 the Commission launched a wide-ranging public debate preceding the formal process of negotiation, and synthetised in a Green Paper* the different options and main key issues that had emerged, in order to facilitate discussion among a wide spectrum of players. Against this background the Commission tabled a discussion paper which
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Page1 / 18

3_2006_Cotonou_background_information - Cotonou Agreement...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online