RES 341 wk 1 dq 2 - What are the four data scales You may...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
What are the four data scales? You may have read that an earthquake somewhere measured 6 on the Richter scale. The Richter number, R, is used to quantify the strength of earthquakes. The Richter number is defined as R = 10log(A) + constant. The four data scales are nominal, ordinal, interval and ratio. What is the data scale of the Richter number variable? The Richter number variable is consistent with the interval data scale. The interval data scale uses numbers for example 1-10 of that job design, to rank a variable. The numbers are used to indicate the strength of the variable. This will depend on the different connotations of the cross- culture in which the scale is being processed in. In accordance to _________“Operational definition consists in the reduction of the concept from its level of abstraction, by breaking it into its dimensions and elements, as discussed” (p. 2). What role do data scales play in developing an operational definition? The role that data scales play in developing an operational definition is huge. Operational
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online