{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

The digestive system has three phases

The digestive system has three phases - The last phase of...

Info icon This preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The digestive system has three phases’ mouth and throat, stomach, and intestines. All three phases are needed to properly brake down the food and drinks we ingest. The journey begins with our mouth, as we smell and chew the food our salivary glands start to work. When chewing the food saliva is released and mixed with the food and turns it into bolus. At this point it enters the pharynx and into the esophagus. This process is over in minutes. The next part of the journey is when the bolus enters the stomach. Here the bolus is mixed into a semi liquid mass called chyme. This process takes two to six hours.
Image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: The last phase of this process is the intestines. After leaving the stomach the chyme enters the small intestines. Secretions, from the gull bladder, pancreas, and liver, help break down the chyme. The food is broken down for nutrients and waste. The nutrients are absorbed into the body through the small intestines. This process takes three to five hours. The components of the chyme that are not absorbed into the small intestines enter the large intestines, than the colon, and leaves the body threw the anis. This process takes can take up to 24 hours....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}