{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

BIOL 142 Chapter 26 Study Guide for TEST 2

BIOL 142 Chapter 26 Study Guide for TEST 2 - Prokaryotes...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
BIOL 142: Study Guide for TEST # 2 Chapter 26 – The Tree of Life Taxonomy = classification of living things; taxa (hierarchical groups) are based on shared characteristics (including similarities in DNA) Taxa (from broadest to most specific) = Domain, Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus, Species Scientific names include the genus and the species (= binomial nomenclature, first proposed by Linnaeus) The currently accepted method of classification includes 3 domains (Bacteria, Archaea, and Eukarya), each representing a separate clade, and 6 kingdoms (Bacteria, Archaea, Animalia, Plantae, Fungi, Protista) Bacteria and Archaea are called
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Background image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Prokaryotes because members of both groups have simple cells with no membrane-bound organelles. Eukaryotes-have complex cells with membrane- bound organelles including mitochondria and chloroplasts thought to have entered eukaryotic cells via endosymbiosis-are often (but not always) multicellular-often (but not always) undergo sexual reproduction Earth is about 4.5 billion years old. The first life on Earth was prokaryotic cells that appeared about 3.5 BYA (the very first cells may have arisen spontaneously from the early ocean). The first Eukaryotes appeared about 2.5 BYA...
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}