sample_sound_journal_written_assignment - Student Name...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Student Name Sample Sound Journal Written Assignment Title of Piece: Second Brandenburg Concerto, First Movement by J. S. Bach 1. This composition is a lively concerto movement for violin, oboe, recorder, and trumpet soloists and a string band (violins, violas, cellos, double bass, and harpsichord). The texture is polyphonic throughout which each instrument playing its own independent music. The texture is not too thick. The timbre is very bright most of the time. The trumpet is especially bright as it seems to cut through the texture above all the other instruments. The recorder, on the other hand, is more subdued and it is very difficult to hear the harpsichord. Each solo instrument is sometimes heard on its own, in alternation with the whole ensemble. The soloists pass melodies between them, so that the same melody is heard now in the violin, then in the trumpet, then in the oboe, and again in the recorder. The main melody is a lively, staccato, disjunct melody in a major key. There are times
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 09/20/2011 for the course MUSIC 1306 taught by Professor Tanger during the Spring '11 term at North Central Texas College.

Page1 / 3

sample_sound_journal_written_assignment - Student Name...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online