{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Identity - 3 Identity moratorium individuals typically...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Identity is who you are. You are defined by your relgion, your career, who your family is, and what you plan on doing with your life. James Marcia (1980, 1994) reasons that Erikson's theory of identity development contains four statuses of identity, 1. Identity Diffusion- It refers to a period when an individual does not have an established identity, nor is actively searching for one. 2. Identity Foreclosure- It occurs when people think they know who they are, but they have not even explored their options yet. People in identity foreclosure have committed to an identity too soon. Often they have simply adopted the identity of a parent, close relative or respected friend.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: 3. Identity moratorium- individuals typically explore many different options - such as visiting different types of churches - and do not feel committed to any one approach. 4. Identity Achievement- a person must undergo an identity moratorium in order to reach identity achievement. For instance, a person who is in identity achievement with regard to occupation would have first tried out various career routes via internships, online research, and informational interviews before identifying the best fit. References: Santrock, J. (2011). Life-Span Development (13th ed.). New York McGraw-Hill...
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}