The Wheel of Life2

The Wheel of Life2 - corners, usually either the moon of a...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The Wheel of Life 531 B.C.E. India The Wheel of Life is a very important aspect of the many Buddhist religions. The Buddhist religion believe that they are eternally trapped in a cycle of reincarnation unless they can achieve Nirvana. Achieving Nirvana is essentially becoming enlightened. The Wheel of life represents this cycle of reincarnation. The Wheel of life is often depicted being held by a monster who is thought to be Yama, the God of Death. There is always a figure in the upper left or right
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: corners, usually either the moon of a Buddha. The outer rim of the wheel is divided into 12 sections. These sections represents the twelve sins that will keep you trapped in the cycle of rebirth for eternity. The wheel itself is divided into six different sections. Each of theses sections represents one of the sixth realms, which includes the realms of Gods, and humans. The wheel is a very important part of the Buddhist religion and helps Buddhist live there lives well Joshua Wexler 12/12/07...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 10/10/2011 for the course PHIL 160 taught by Professor Coakley during the Spring '11 term at Arizona.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online