Review for Intro to Music Final[1]

Review for Intro to Music Final[1] - Review for Intro to...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Review for Intro to Music Final Notation- Use of Meter and Time Signatures- 1. Simple Meter: Grouping of rhythms in which the beat is subdivided into two, as in duple, triple, and quadruple meters. 2. Compound Meter: Meter in which each beat is subdivided into three rather than two. 3. Duple Meter: Basic metrical pattern of two or four beats to a measure. 4. Triple Meter: Basic metrical pattern of three beats to a measure. Examples: 4/4 is a simple duple meter 3/4 is a simple triple meter 6/8 is a compound duple meter 9/8 is a compound triple meter Clefs- 1. Treble Clef: The treble clef assigns the G above middle C to the 2nd line from transposing instruments), as well as high brass, violins, and tuned percussion. 2. Bass Clef: The bass clef uses the F clef to assign the note F immediately below middle C to the 4th line of the staff (the second line from the top). Most lower-pitched instruments, such as the lower brass, lower strings, and bassoon, read bass clef. 3. Alto Clef: The alto clef assigns the note middle C to the middle line of the staff. The alto clef is currently used by only one modern instrument: the viola--and for this reason is sometimes called the viola clef. 4. Tenor Clef: The tenor clef assigns middle C to the 4th line of the staff. Bassoons, cellos, euphoniums, double basses, and trombones which all use the bass clef in their lower and middle ranges, also use the tenor clef in their upper ranges. In their extreme high ranges, most of these instruments, especially the cello, use the treble clef as well.
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
The Basics of Melody- Diatonic: Melody or harmony built from the seven tones of a major or minor scale. A diatonic scale encompasses patterns of seven whole tones and semitones. Chromatic: Melody or harmony built from many if not all twelve semitones of the octave. A chromatic scale consists of an ascending or descending sequence of semitones. The Basics of Harmony- 1. Harmony: The simultaneous sounding of more than one pitch. 2. Tonic:  The first note of a scale (the tonic or keynote,  do ), which serves as the home  base around which the other pitches revolve and to which they ultimately gravitate. a. The list of triads are: i. Tonic ii. Supertonic iii. Mediant iv. Subdominant v. Dominant vi. Submediant vii. Seven FOR ALL THE NOTATIONS ON HOW THEY LOOK CHECK THE STUDY GUIDES AND BOOK, ETC….PRINT OUR SCALES AND MODES General- Instrument Classification- 1. Strings: The members of the string family include two types of instruments: bowed and plucked. The standard bowed string instruments, from highest to lowest, are violin, viola, cello and double bass. The harp and guitar are common plucked string instruments. 2.
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 04/06/2008 for the course MUSIC 101 taught by Professor Chapman during the Fall '07 term at Rutgers.

Page1 / 10

Review for Intro to Music Final[1] - Review for Intro to...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online