term paper 2 - Ginny Nolan 23235994 Term Paper#2 Drunk...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ginny Nolan 23235994 Term Paper #2 Drunk driving in Massachusetts is called an OUI or “operating under the influence .” In Massachusetts it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0 .08 or above if you are over 21, 0 .02 or above if you are under 21, and 0.04 if you are operating a commercial vehicle . Massachusetts also has what is known as “Melanie’s Law,” which was enacted in 2005 and gives harsher penalties to drunk drivers . The penalties for a first time offense include up to 30 months in jail, a fine from $500 to $5,000, 1 year license suspension, and a court assigned treatment program . A second offense means a penalty of a $600 to $10,000 fine, 30 days to 30 months in jail, license suspension for 2 years, and an ignition interlock device is required to be installed on your car . Jail times, fines, and length of license suspension continue to increase until the fifth offense for which the penalty is 2 to 5 years in jail, permanent license suspension, and a $2,000 to $50,000 fine . In Massachusetts you must be 18 years old to serve, pour, or mix alcohol . In regards to happy hour laws licensees may not offer single-priced, unlimited service drink specials; give free drinks to patrons; encourage any organized game which awards alcohol as a prize or promotes excessive drinking; or serve more than two drinks to a patron at one time . Patrons in Massachusetts are also not allowed to take home wine purchased with a meal . Off premises
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
alcohol providing institutions are permitted to sell alcohol on Sundays . On premises institutions have to follow the hours permitted by local licensing boards . Pennsylvania drunk driving laws also use a BAC of 0 .08 as the legal limit for operating a vehicle . Like MA if you are under 21 the BAC limit is .02, and the BAC limit to drive a commercial vehicle is 0 .04. Unlike Massachusetts, in Pennsylvania penalties vary depending on
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Page1 / 5

term paper 2 - Ginny Nolan 23235994 Term Paper#2 Drunk...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online