review for test 3 - Jax Company uses the acquisition method...

Info icon This preview shows pages 1–4. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Jax Company uses the acquisition method for accounting for its investment in Saxton Company. Jax sells some of its shares of Saxton such that neither control nor significant influence exists. Which of the following statements is true ? The difference between selling price and acquisition value is recorded as a realized gain or loss. The difference between selling price and acquisition value is recorded as an unrealized gain or loss. The difference between selling price and carrying value is recorded as a realized gain or loss. The difference between selling price and carrying value is recorded as an unrealized gain or loss. The difference between selling price and carrying value is recorded as an adjustment to retained earnings. Keefe, Inc., a calendar-year corporation, acquires 70% of George Company on September 1, 2010, and an additional 10% on April 1, 2011. Total annual amortization of $6,000 relates to the first acquisition. George reports the following figures for 2011: Without regard for this investment, Keefe independently earns $300,000 in net income during 2011. All net income is earned evenly throughout the year. What is the controlling interest in consolidated net income for 2011? $373,300. $372,850. $371,500. $376,000. $372,805. McGuire company acquired 90 percent of Hogan Company on January 1, 2010, for $234,000 cash. This amount is reflective of Hogan's total fair value. Hogan's stockholders' equity consisted of common stock of $160,000 and retained earnings of $80,000. An analysis of Hogan's net assets revealed the following: Any excess consideration transferred over fair value is attributable to an unamortized patent with a useful life of 5 years. 130. award: 0 out of 0 points The acquisition value attributable to the noncontrolling interest at January 1, 2010 is: $23,400. $24,000.
Image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
$24,900. $26,000. $20,000. references 131. award: 0 out of 0 points In consolidation at January 1, 2010, what adjustment is necessary for Hogan's Buildings account? $2,000 increase. $2,000 decrease. $1,800 increase. $1,800 decrease. No change. references 132. award: 0 out of 0 points In consolidation at December 31, 2010, what adjustment is necessary for Hogan's Buildings account? $1,620 increase. $1,620 decrease. $1,800 increase. $1,800 decrease. No adjustment is necessary. references 133. award: 0 out of 0 points In consolidation at December 31, 2011, what adjustment is necessary for Hogan's Buildings account?
Image of page 2
$1,440 increase. $1,440 decrease. $1,600 increase. $1,600 decrease. No adjustment is necessary. references 134. award: 0 out of 0 points In consolidation at December 31, 2010, what adjustment is necessary for Hogan's Equipment account? $3,000 increase. $3,000 decrease. $2,700 increase. $2,700 decrease. No adjustment is necessary. references 135. award: 0 out of 0 points In consolidation at December 31, 2011, what adjustment is necessary for Hogan's Equipment account? $2,000 increase. $2,000 decrease. $1,800 increase. $1,800 decrease. No adjustment is necessary. references 136.
Image of page 3

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Image of page 4
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

What students are saying

  • Left Quote Icon

    As a current student on this bumpy collegiate pathway, I stumbled upon Course Hero, where I can find study resources for nearly all my courses, get online help from tutors 24/7, and even share my old projects, papers, and lecture notes with other students.

    Student Picture

    Kiran Temple University Fox School of Business ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    I cannot even describe how much Course Hero helped me this summer. It’s truly become something I can always rely on and help me. In the end, I was not only able to survive summer classes, but I was able to thrive thanks to Course Hero.

    Student Picture

    Dana University of Pennsylvania ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    The ability to access any university’s resources through Course Hero proved invaluable in my case. I was behind on Tulane coursework and actually used UCLA’s materials to help me move forward and get everything together on time.

    Student Picture

    Jill Tulane University ‘16, Course Hero Intern