History - enzymes that participate in the conversion of the

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
History 1857 Kölliker discovers mitochondria in muscle 1929 Karl Lohmann discovered ATP 1940 s and 1950 s ATP is formed in cell respiration in mitochondria and photosynthesis in chloroplasts of plants 1960 Efraim Racker and co-workers isolated, from mitochondria, the enzyme "F o F 1 ATPase" now call ATP synthase 1992 Wallace identified degenerative disease caused by mtDNA mutations 1997 Nobel Prize in Chemistry - The three laureates have performed pioneering work on
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: enzymes that participate in the conversion of the "high-energy" compound adenosine triphosphate (ATP). o Paul D. Boyer and John E. Walker "for their elucidation of the enzymatic mechanism underlying the synthesis of adenosine triphosphate (ATP)" o Jens C. Skou "for the first discovery of an ion-transporting enzyme, Na+, K+ -ATPase...
View Full Document

This document was uploaded on 11/03/2011 for the course BIOLOGY BSC1105 at Broward College.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online