Three Major Divisions of Restoration

Three Major Divisions of Restoration - the Augustan Age...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Three Major Divisions of Restoration/Enlightenment School Description Authors The Age of Dryden (1660-1700) Began with restoration of the monarchy and ended with the death of writer John Dryden; Dryden brought back satire from the Classical writers; London theaters closed by the repressive Puritan government were reopened by Charles II. Refurbished and offering new forms of drama, the theaters became very popular with the middle and upper classes. Dryden’s All For Love , a tragedy about Antony and Cleopatra, drew large audiences; other notable prose works of the time include John Dryden; Samuel Pepys; Aphra Behn The Age of Pope (1700–1750), also called the Augustan Age Alexander Pope (1688–1744), an admired poet of his time, was representative of the style; the Restoration period is also called
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: the Augustan Age because many writers openly imitated Greek and Roman literature. The term Augustan is a reference comparing King George I to Emperor Augustus Caesar of Rome; London considered center of literary universe, much as ancient Rome was during days of Augustus, Virgil, & Horac Alexander Pope; Addison and Steele; Jonathan Swift The Age of Johnson (1750-1798) Named after Samuel Johnson (1709–1784), the most famous writer of his generation; bridges span b/w the Enlightenment and the Romantic Age; during this time some writers began to move away from the ideals of Neoclassicism toward the freer, more emotional, more natural style of the Romantics. Samuel Johnson; Charlotte Smith;...
View Full Document

This document was uploaded on 11/03/2011 for the course ENGLISH ENC1102 at Broward College.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online