{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}


MAJOR HISTOCOMPATIBILITY COMPLEX - includes immunoglobulins...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
MAJOR HISTOCOMPATIBILITY COMPLEX The Major Histocompatibility Complex (MHC) is a set of molecules displayed on cell surfaces that are responsible for lymphocyte recognition and "antigen presentation". The MHC molecules control the immune response through recognition of "self" and "non-self" and, consequently, serve as targets in transplantation rejection. The Class I and Class II MHC molecules belong to a group of molecules known as the Immunoglobulin Supergene Family, which
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: includes immunoglobulins , T-cell receptors, CD4, CD8, and others. This page will describe the MHC molecules and the process of antigen presentation. The major histocompatibility complex is encoded by several genes located on human chromosome 6. Class I molecules are encoded by the BCA region while class II molecules are encoded by the D region. A region between these two on chromosome 6 encodes class III molecules, including some complement components ....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online