The Sacred Cut - spheres the empyrium the stars and the...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The Sacred Cut An octagon can also be constructed in the following way: Place a compass at each corner of a square and strike an arc which intersects the two adjacent sides and passes through the center of the square. This subdivides the square into a nine-module grid with modules of different proportions. Connecting the points where the arcs cut the square gives an octagon. The Danish engineer Tons Brunes calles this construction the Sacred Cut. He claims it is the fundamental construction which forms the basis for system of geometry which has governed the construction of monuments in every period, from the Egyptian to the Medieval. .................................... Hands-On: Construct an octogon by using the sacred cut. Nine Ranks of Angels Slide 10-8: HILDEGARDE: Nine Ranks of Angels Hildegarde, p. 74 Nine is called the angelic number, after nine choirs of angels. We just spoke about the Four Hierarchies of the Universe . One of which was the translunary world , including the moon and everything above. The translunary world is divided into nine
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Background image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: spheres, the empyrium, the stars, and the seven planets. Each had its own kind of angel; seraphims, cherubims, archangels, and the lot. We'll introduce them all in our unit on Celestial Themes in Art. Ten Spheres of the Sephiroth Slide 8-104: Kabbalistic Tree of Life. Wasserman, James. Art and Symbols of the Occult. Vermont: Destiny, 1993. p. 33 In the Middle ages, we have the Ten Spheres of the Sephiroth. This figure also shows the Four Worlds that we discussed earlier, in light grey circles. It also shows the Sephiroth, which emanate or radiate from the divine power, each with its associated name, number and celestial body. (1) Crown (2) Wisdom (3) Intelligence (4) Love (5) Justice (6) Beauty (or Mercy) (7) Victory or Firmness (8) Splendor (9) Foundation (10) Kingdom Because the sefiroth were considered archetypes for everything in the world of creation, an understanding of their workings were felt to illuminate the inner workings of the cosmos and of history....
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 11/05/2011 for the course ARH ARH2000 taught by Professor Karenroberts during the Fall '10 term at Broward College.

Page1 / 2

The Sacred Cut - spheres the empyrium the stars and the...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online