Outline and Test Notes_3 - know what Bhakti yoga and Karma...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: know what Bhakti yoga and Karma yoga are there were lots of questions about hinduism but since most of it was nothing I had ever heard of, I can't remember any more...sorry. Re: Bhakti Yoga Bhakti Yoga (Devangar: ) is a term within Hinduism which denotes the spiritual practice of fostering loving devotion ("bhakti") to a personal form of God. The Bhagavad Gita and Bhagavata Purana are two important scriptures which explain and develop the attitude of bhakti.[1] Hindu movements in which bhakti is the main practice are called bhakti movementsthe major schools are Shaivism, Vaishnavism, and Shaktism.[2] Bhakti is a Sanskrit term that signifies an attitude of devotion to a personal God that is typically based on a number of human relationships such as beloved-lover, friend-friend, parent-child, and master-servant.[1] The Bhagavata Purana teaches nine primary forms of bhakti, as explained by Prahlada: [3] (1) rava a("listening" to the scriptural stories of K a and his companions), (2) krtana ("praising," usually refers to ecstatic group singing), (3) smara a ("remembering" or fixing the mind on Vi u), (4) pda-sevana (rendering service), (5) arcana (worshiping an image), (6) vandana (paying homage), (7) dsya (servitude), (8) skhya (friendship), and (9) tma-nivedana(complete surrender of the self). (from Bhagata Purana, 7.5.23-24) These nine principles of devotional service are described as helping the devotee remain constantly in touch with God. The processes of japa and internal meditation on the aspirant devotees's chosen deity form (ishta deva) are especially popular in most bhakti schools. Bhakti is a yoga path, in that its aim is a form of divine, loving union with the Supreme Lord. The exact form of the Lord, or type of union varies between the different schools, but the essence of each process is very similar. Karma Yoga Karma yoga (Sanskrit: ), (also known as Buddhi Yoga) or the "discipline of action" is based on the teachings of the Bhagavad Gita, a sacred Sanskrit scripture of Hinduism. One of the four pillars of yoga, Karma yoga focuses on the adherence to duty (dharma) while remaining detached from the reward. It states that one can experience salvation (Moksha) or love (bhakti) of God by performing their duties in an unselfish manner for the pleasure of the Supreme, which is the welfare of the world. Karma Yoga is an intrinsic part of many derivative types of yoga, such as Natya Yoga....
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 11/07/2011 for the course SCIENCE AST-101 taught by Professor D during the Fall '10 term at Edison State College.

Page1 / 16

Outline and Test Notes_3 - know what Bhakti yoga and Karma...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online