{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Bone Development and Growth - • Bones increase in length...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Bone Development and Growth: There are two types of bone based on the way the bones form 1. INTRAMEMBRANOUS BONES = broad, flat bones of the skull. These bones form from membrane-like sheets of connective tissue 2. ENDOCHONDRAL BONES = all other bones. Bones first form as hyaline cartilage. The cartilage then gradually changes into bone tissue - a process called OSSIFICATION, which begins near the middle of the diaphysis in an area called the PRIMARY OSSIFICATION CENTER. Later the bone begins to ossify in the epiphysis - these areas are called the SECONDARY OSSIFICATION CENTERS. As long as growth is occurring, a "band" of cartilage (called an epiphyseal disk, growth plate) remains between the diaphysis and the epiphysis.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: • Bones increase in length as these cartilage cells continue to reproduce and ossify • Cartilage cells form cells called OSTEOBLASTS. These cells produce bone matrix and once the cell is enclosed in bone matrix it is considered to be a mature bone cell and called an OSTEOCYTE • Growth in thickness of bone occurs as osteoblasts from beneath the periosteum produce bone matrix and build compact bone just underneath the periosteum • Bone tissue is constantly being replaced as special cells called OSTEOCLASTS dissolve bone tissue from within the medullary cavity - a process called RESORPTION. At the same time new bone tissue is being added to the outside of the bone....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}