Mitosis - Mitosis...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Mitosis There are four phases in  mitosis  (adjective, mitotic): prophase, metaphase, anaphase, and  telophase (Figure 2):  During  prophase,  the nucleoli disappear, the chromatin condenses into  chromosomes, the nuclear envelope breaks down, and the mitotic spindle is assembled.  The development of the mitotic spindle begins as the centrosomes move apart to opposite  ends (poles) of the nucleus. As they move apart, microtubules develop from each  centrosome, increasing in length by the addition of tubulin units. Microtubules from each  centrosome connect to specialized regions in the centromere called  kinetochores.  Microtubules tug on the kinetochores, moving the chromosomes back and forth toward one  pole, then the other. Within the spindle, there are also microtubules that overlap at the  center of the spindle and do not attach to the chromosomes.  Metaphase
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 11/10/2011 for the course PT 101 taught by Professor Staff during the Spring '10 term at Texas State.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online