{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Nervous Tissue - • The axon branches are typically...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Nervous Tissue Nervous tissue  consists of two kinds of nerve cells:    Neurons are the basic structural unit of the nervous system. Each cell consists of the following  parts (see Figure 1):  The cell body contains the nucleus and other cellular organelles. The dendrites are typically short, slender extensions of the cell body that receive  stimuli. The axon is typically a long, slender extension of the cell body that sends stimuli.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: • The axon branches are, typically, smaller extensions of the axon. • Neuroglia, or glial cells, provide support functions for the neurons, such as insulation or anchoring neurons to blood vessels. Figure 1. A neuron is a basic structural unit of the nervous system containing a cell body, dendrites, and an axon....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online