Structural classification

Structural classification - • Articular cartilage(hyaline...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Structural classification Structural classification is based on the materials that hold the joint together and whether or not a  cavity is present in the joint. There are three structural classes:  Fibrous joints are held together by fibrous connective tissue. No joint cavity is  present. Fibrous joints may be immovable or slightly movable. Cartilaginous joints are held together by cartilage (hyaline or fibrocartilage). No joint  cavity is present. Cartilaginous joints may be immovable or slightly movable. Synovial joints  are characterized by a synovial cavity (joint cavity) containing  synovial fluid. Synovial joints are freely movable and characterize most joints of the body.  Figure 1 lists other features of a synovial joint, including the following: 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: • Articular cartilage (hyaline cartilage), which covers the end of each bone. • A synovial membrane, which surrounds the synovial cavity. Its areolar connective tissue secretes a lubricating synovial fluid into the synovial cavity. • A fibrous capsule outside the synovial membrane, which surrounds the joint. It often contains bundles of dense, irregular, connective tissue called ligaments. The ligaments provide strength and flexibility to the joint. • The articulate capsule, composed of the synovial membrane and fibrous capsule. • Accessory ligaments, which lie outside the articular capsule (extracapsular ligaments) or inside the synovial cavity (intracapsular ligaments)....
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 11/10/2011 for the course PT 101 taught by Professor Staff during the Spring '10 term at Texas State.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online