The Brain - • The metencephalon generates the pons...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The Brain Three cavities, called the primary brain vesicles, form during the early embryonic development of the  brain. These are the  forebrain  (prosencephalon), the  midbrain  (mesencephalon), and the  hindbrain  (rhombencephalon).  During subsequent development, the three primary brain vesicles develop into five secondary brain  vesicles. The names of these vesicles and the major adult structures that develop from the vesicles  follow (see Table 1):  The telencephalon generates the cerebrum (which contains the cerebral cortex, white  matter, and basal ganglia). The diencephalon generates the thalamus, hypothalamus, and pineal gland. The mesencephalon generates the midbrain portion of the brainstem.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: • The metencephalon generates the pons portion of the brainstem and the cerebellum. • The myelencephalon generates the medulla oblongata portion of the brainstem. • The cerebrum consists of two cerebral hemispheres connected by a bundle of nerve fibers, the corpus callosum. The largest and most visible part of the brain, the cerebrum, appears as folded ridges and grooves, called convolutions. The following terms are used to describe the convolutions: • A gyrus (plural, gyri) is an elevated ridge. • A sulcus (plural, sulci) is a shallow groove. • A fissure is a deep groove....
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 11/10/2011 for the course PT 101 taught by Professor Staff during the Spring '10 term at Texas State.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online