{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

The renal tubule consists of three sections

The renal tubule consists of three sections - the tubule...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The renal tubule consists of three sections: The first section, the proximal convoluted tubule (PCT), exits the  glomerular capsule as a winding tube in the renal cortex. The wall of the  PCT consists of cuboidal cells containing numerous mitochondria and  bearing a brush border of dense microvilli that face the lumen (interior  cavity). The high-energy yield and large surface area of these cells support  their functions of reabsorption and secretion. The middle of the tubule, the nephron loop, is shaped like a hairpin and  consists of a descending limb that drops into the renal medulla and an  ascending limb that rises back into the renal cortex. As the loop descends, 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: the tubule suddenly narrows, forming the thin segment of the loop. The loop subsequently widens in the ascending limb, forming the thick segment of the loop. Cells of the nephron loop vary from simple squamous epithelium (descending limb and thin segment of ascending limb) to cuboidal and low columnar epithelium (thick segment of ascending limb) and almost entirely lack microvilli. • The final section, the distal convoluted tubule (DCT), coils within the renal cortex and empties into the collecting duct. Cells here are cuboidal with few microvilli....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online